What are the first five books of the Bible called?


"Then He said to them, "These are the words which I spoke to you while I was still with you, that all things must be fulfilled which were written in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms concerning Me"" (Luke 24:44).

Jesus divided the Old Testament up into three sections:

  1. The Law of Moses, which are the first five books of the Old Testament. Sometimes this is simplified to just "the Law," though the phrase "the Law" can also refer to the entire Old Testament.
  2. The Prophets, which are the remaining books in the Old Testament written by other prophets.
  3. The Psalms are sometimes divided from the rest of the Prophets' writings and refer to the books of poetry and wisdom (Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Solomon).