What were the names of Jesus's twelve apostles?


At times, names can be confusing because we use a variety of names for ourselves. There is our birth name, our common name, and our nickname. We find that happening in Scriptures. One of Jesus's apostles was named Simon, but Jesus gives him the nickname Peter (stone), but Peter in Greek is Cephas. Hence, one apostle is called by three different names in the New Testament.

The original twelve apostles were:

Simon, son of Jonas (also known as Peter or Cephas) (John 1:42)
Andrew, son of Jonas
James, son of Zebedee (nicknamed with his brother, Sons of Thunder) (Luke 5:10)
John, son of Zebedee (nicknamed with his brother, Sons of Thunder) (Luke 5:10)
Matthew (also known as Levi)
James, son of Alpheaus
Simon, the Canaanite (nicknamed the Zealot)
Judas, son of James (also called Lebbaeus or Thaddaeus)
Judas Iscariot

This list is found in Matthew 10:2-4; Mark 3:16-19; and Luke 6:13-16.

After Judas Iscariot betrayed Jesus and committed suicide, he was replaced by Matthias (Acts 1:15-26).

Just before James, the son of Zebedeee, was beheaded by Herod (Acts 12:1-2), Jesus selected a man named Saul (later called Paul) to be his apostle to the Gentiles (Acts 9:1-22).

See also:


November 24, 2007